Humans Of New York

Have you ever started reading a blog and been inspired? I have. I started following the Facebook page for the Photoblog Humans of New York, and I was so touched and inspired by just reading that now I can’t stop.

This blog reminds me of the 100 Strangers project I did while in Grad School for my Documentary class.

Brandon Staton is a photographer that started interviewing and taking street portraits of New Yorkers all over the city. He started his project in November 2010, since then 6,000 portraits have been gathered so far.

Humans of New York will give you a glimpse into the lives of a random New Yorker, who is willing to tell Staton a little something about themselves. While I was reading the book with the same title I thought to myself… “Wow, us New Yorkers are usually known for our nasty attitude. One thing many may not know is that we all have stories to tell.”

As a New Yorker, you learn how to survive in such a hectic environment. We are all fighting for something, but we never lose touch of who we are and where we come from. I appreciate the fact that he has taken the time to go out and interact and show the world who we really are. He has defiantly chosen the perfect ground to cover, New York is know as the “Crossroads of the World.”

Out of all of the stories he has posted the two that have stuck to me have been the story of the The Gambian who wanted to be an actor, he left it all behind to make his dream a reality, and never giving up even when all he had was water to drink. The second story is about the guy who knew he wanted to get into medicine after witnessing what his father was able to do which was help others.

Take a minute, read a story, it can change your life and the way you look at it all.

Follow him on Instagram and Like his Page on Facebook! Buy his Book!

20140707-120425-43465428.jpg
His work is amazing!

Website: Humans of New York

Leave a Reply

